

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

July 19, 2023, 1:30 P.M. Student Center Conference Room North 900 N Portland Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73107

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: John Daniel, Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, Ken Parker,

Greg Hallman, Geoff Kingsley

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Dr. Katherine Curry, Kathryn Szallar

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, David Kurt, Lecrecia

Schmidt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Samantha Sheppard-OSDE,

Cora James-OSDE, Dr. Juan D'Brot-Center for Assessment, Dr. Stephen Murphy-Cognia, Charles

Lindsey-Outlaw-Legis OK

Call to Order: Mr. Ken Parker called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Mr. Parker asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed. Mr. Hallman then entered at 1:34 p.m.

Welcome from Ms. Jennifer Gambrell: Ms. Gambrell, OEQA Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the June 21, 2023 Commission Meeting: Mr. Daniel made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 21, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Kingsley seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Szallar:absentDr. Fiegener:approveMr. Parker:approveDr. Curry:absentMr. Kingsley:approve

Mr. Hallman: absent

Approval of Minutes from the June 27, 2023 Commission Meeting: Mr. Daniel made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 27, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Fiegener seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Szallar:absentDr. Fiegener:approveMr. Parker:approveDr. Curry:absentMr. Kingsley:approve

Mr. Hallman: absent

Presentation by Oklahoma State Department of Education, 8th Grade Science Cut Scores:

Cora James presented the background of the cut scores process to the Commission. Dr. Juan D'Brot with Center for Assessment spoke of standards and assessment timelines. Dr. Stephen Murphy with Cognia presented information on how Cognia facilitated the meetings with Oklahoma educators to set the standards for the cut scores. He spoke about the process that Oklahoma educators went through to come to these conclusions and presented the final results. The Commissioners asked questions about the process and reasons behind the conclusions.

Approval of 8th Grade Science Cut Scores: Mr. Hallman made a motion to accept the 8th Grade Science Cut Scores. Mr. Kingsley seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Szallar:absentDr. Fiegener:approveMr. Parker:opposedDr. Curry:absentMr. Kingsley:approve

Mr. Hallman: approve

2 2	minutes of the July 19, 2023 regular meeting of the d Accountability were approved (circle one)
as submitted	with corrections
on August 16, 2023.	
Signed:	
Mr. Ken Parker	Dr. Megan Oftedal,
CEQA Commissioner	OEQA Executive Director